Asian girl kryptonite

Hong Kong.
Oh, to be let loose here with an unlimited credit card would be so sinfully delicious.

Her: Are you a make-up person?
Me: Not so often, more so in HK.
Her: Why HK but not NYC?
Me: There’s more pressure in HK.

First, we have the malls for the masses, reliable, reasonable and practical with lots of fun Japanese imports. Then there are the luxury malls. Chock full of high-end brands and catered towards the well-to-do and expats. They dazzle you with the snooty signs and matching colors, all surfaces top to bottom are polished to perfection, reflecting your every imperfection. Large window displays screaming glam sex appeal with a judgemental mannequin frozen in the spotlight. Sigh. Fancy brands make me sigh in envy but also admittedly are not my cup of tea (nor within my price range). Even so, walking through these malls are a real treat for the eyes and a good education. It’s almost like walking through a high quality fashion magazine with live commentary running through your head. Current styles and colors seep into you via osmosis and you go home secretly vowing to spend more time and effort on your appearance.

It matters because what we wear and how we look have an effect on how we are perceived, as well as what we think about ourselves. Better service, more successful,  even the good ol’ self fulfilling prophecy will bring you up. It may not be everything, but in this world every little bit matters. How can you not judge a new book by its cover when that’s the first thing you see. It isn’t all about the money though. I think the real challenge is learning the right style for that “look” you want to project as a means to an end. As for me, I try at times but mostly I’m a tad too content with where I am. Comfort and style have to go hand in hand and its taken a while for me to find the right balance. It’s almost a shame I don’t try harder having grown up in HK and residing in the big city. Alright. Tomorrow I’ll buy a hairbrush, and after that I’ll begin brushing my hair!


And then there are the malls that make the little asian girl in me quiver and shake with excitement. My pupils dilate, my heartbeat escalates, and I fight the urge to purchase all things that projects that tiny, cute, and fluffy feeling. There is something that is just  irresistible about these perfect little art forms. Fluffy teddies and bunnies, tiny characters and big puppy dog eyes, things covered in polka dots, and kitties that are made to ultimate perfection all have a special place in my heart. it’s like kryptonite for asian girls. Here we have shops that are just full of these darling little trinkets, dolls, stationary, phone covers, even stores that specialize in cats alone. I want it all, but that dratted common sense of mine always kicks in and leaves me empty-handed. Who needs this junk it says, why waste your money it says, what will you do with it it says.. what a buzz kill I say!

Despite my bully of an ego to my Id, I have managed to build up a small collection of things that won my heart. No prizes for being able to guess the theme! They sit at home in HK now, but one day I’ll have a beautiful glass shelf to proudly display my kryptonite.

And finally the super-kryptonite that grew up with me through thick and thin, the cute old lady, the papered, over fed, cuddle bug love-of-my-life, my darling chinese kitty -Ah-gum!

This entry was posted in Animals, Cat fun, Life, People fun, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Asian girl kryptonite

  1. My human would certainly spend half her money in these cat-focused shops ;-)
    Great pics!
    Purrs

  2. Dianda says:

    I agree with Texas!

  3. happycatgirl says:

    thanks guys! I’ve entertained the thought of one day opening such a shop, I think we need more in the US! =P

  4. Cathy M says:

    We share the same love: shopping and kitty!!! (Also, shopping FOR kitty, LOL) <3
    I have to say, I'm super envious of your finds in HK..do open a shop in the US, I'm sure it'll be a hit!

Leave a Reply

